English version Version Française
 About CNRS Life Sciences Other CNRS web sites
  Group Chromatin and cell biology.
  Home > Research > Scientific Groups
 

Chromatin and cell biology.

(Department Genome Dynamics)

 

Leader: Giacomo CAVALLI

 

In eukaryotes, chromatin is essential for heredity. Chromatin architectures are sometimes epistatic over the DNA and impart different heritable functions to the same DNA sequence or the same function to unrelated DNA sequences. In higher eukaryotes, memory of cell fates can be maintained by regulatory proteins classified in the Polycomb Group (PcG) and the trithorax Group (trxG). PcG proteins are maintain silent states of gene expression, while trxG members maintain active chromatin states. These proteins are able to recognize regulatory states of their target genes and to maintain these states even after disappearance of the primary transcriptional regulators that have induced them in the first place. Remarkably, these states can also be transmitted to a fraction of the progeny over multiple generations. In our lab, we aim at understanding the molecular mechanisms by which PcG and trxG proteins regulate their target genes, convey inheritance of chromatin states and orchestrate development. To reach this goal, we employ a variety of complementary approaches and techniques in the areas of molecular, cellular and developmental biology, genomics and bioinformatics.

 

Keywords: Chromatin, chromosome, nuclear organization, development, Polycomb, trithorax, Drosophila

 

Group's News

 

News We are more than our DNA...

The lab of Giacomo Cavalli at the Institute of Human Genetics of Montpellier (CNRS and University of Montpellier), in collaboration with researchers at INRA, ETH and Caltech has demonstrated the existence of transgenerational epigenetic inheritance (TEI) in Drosophila. By transiently modifying the 3D organization of chromosomes and the function of Polycomb proteins, whose function is essential in development, the Cavalli lab has obtained fly lines characterized by different eye colors in the presence of the same DNA sequence. These differences depend on a variable degree of Polycomb-dependent gene silencing that can be stably but reversibly transmitted through a large number of generations. This epigenetic inheritance applies to transgenic as well as natural populations and can be modulated by environmental conditions, such as growth temperature. These results have been published in the journal Nature Genetics on April 24, 2017. Read the article at Ciabrelli et al. Nature Genetics, doi:10.1038/ng.3848
Artwork (c) Elisa Cavalli

[Press release]

Read more

News A new epigenetic mechanism mediating tumor suppression by Polycomb proteins

The Cavalli lab shows that a complex of Polycomb group proteins has a tumor suppressor activity that depends on its specific binding to hundreds of genes involved in the control of proliferation, cell signaling and polarity. This activity was discovered in Drosophila, but the same chromosomal binding pattern is observed in differentiated human cells, suggesting that this phenomenon might be conserved in some human tumors. This study, published in the journal Nature Genetics, opens new perspectives in the field of carcinogenesis.
Read more.

 

Group's publications of the year (2017):

Ciabrelli F, Comoglio F, Fellous S, Bonev B, Ninova M, Szabo Q, Xuéreb A, Klopp C, Aravin A, Paro R, Bantignies F, Cavalli G.
Stable Polycomb-dependent transgenerational inheritance of chromatin states in Drosophila
(2017), Nat. Genet. :
Sati S, Cavalli G..
Chromosome conformation capture technologies and their impact in understanding genome function
(2017), Chromosoma : 126(1):33-44
Schwartz YB, Cavalli G..
Three-Dimensional Genome Organization and Function in Drosophila
(2017), Genetics : 205, 1, 5-24

 

All the publications of the group

Staff:


Name / First name Room Phone status

   Researcher

BANTIGNIES Frederic 106-107 9997 DR (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  
CAVALLI Giacomo 103 9970 DR (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  
CHEUTIN Thierry 106-107 9997 CR (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  
MARTINEZ Anne-Marie 200 9969 PU (Univ.Montp.2) E-mail    Photo  
SCHUTTENGRUBER Bernd 106-107 9997 CR (INSERM) E-mail    Photo  

   Engineer & Administrative

FRITSCH Lauriane 104-105 9968 IE (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  

   Post-Doc

BONEV Boyan 104-105 9968 (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  
GROB Stefan 106-107 9997 (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  
OGIYAMA Yuki 104-105 9968 E-mail    Photo  
PAPADOPOULOS Giorgio Lucio 104-105 9968 (CNRS) E-mail   
SATI Satish 104-105 9968 (Univ.Montp) E-mail    Photo  

   PhD students

ENTREVAN Marianne 106-107 9997 (Univ.Montp) E-mail    Photo  
LOUBIERE Vincent 104-105 9968 (Univ.Montp.1) E-mail    Photo  
PULICANI Sylvain 170 9564 (Univ.Montp) E-mail    Photo  
SZABO Quentin 106 9997 (Univ.Montp) E-mail    Photo  

   Fixed-term contract

GUIGUE Philippe 106-107 9997 (CNRS) E-mail   

   Student

RAUTURIER Charles 104-105 9968 (CNRS) E-mail    Photo  

   Trainee

RUBERT-CASTRO Francesc 106 9979 E-mail    Photo  

Chromatin and cell biology. Group

Home pageSmart printContactCoordinatesCopyrightsPersonnal AccessWebmail  Mailing Lists

 

 

CNRS UM
Institute of Human Genetics
 
 

Directories

Search

the Institute Servers



the CNRS WEB



  INSTITUTE of HUMAN GENETICS
  UMR9002 CNRS-UM
  Montpellier, France

English version Version Française
Le CNRS
Sciences du Vivant
Autres sites CNRS
  Equipe Chromatine et Biologie Cellulaire.
  Accueil > Recherche > Equipes
 

Chromatine et Biologie Cellulaire.

(Département Dynamique du Génome)

 

Responsable : Giacomo CAVALLI

 

Chez les organismes eucaryotes, la chromatine est essentielle pour l'hérédité. Les structures chromatiniennes sont parfois épistatiques sur l'ADN et elle sont capables d'imposer différentes fonctions héritables à la même séquence d'ADN, ainsi que de déterminer la même fonction pour des séquences d'ADN différentes. Chez les eucaryotes supérieurs, les protéines des groupes Polycomb (PcG) et trithorax (trxG) sont capables de maintenir l'identité cellulaire au fil des générations cellulaires. Les protéines du PcG maintiennent les états géniques réprimés, alors que les facteurs du trxG maintiennent les états actifs. Les protéines du PcG et du trxG peuvent reconnaître les états fonctionnels de leurs gènes cibles et maintenir ces états même après disparition des facteurs régulateurs de la transcription qui avaient déclenché leur induction durant le développement précoce. De façon remarquable, les protéines du PcG et du trxG sont capables de transmettre des états géniques même à la progéniture et ce, pendant plusieurs générations. Dans notre laboratoire, nous cherchons à comprendre les mécanismes moléculaires par lesquels les protéines du PcG et du trxG régulent leurs gènes cibles, maintiennent l'héritage des états chromatiniens et programment le bon déroulement du développement. Pour cela, nous utilisons des approches et des techniques complémentaires dans les domaines de la biologie cellulaire, moléculaire et du développement, ainsi que de la génomique et de la bioinformatique

 

Mots clé : Chromatine, chromosome, développement, organisation nucléaire, Polycomb, trithorax, Drosophila

 

Actualités de l'équipe

 

A la une Nous sommes plus que notre ADN ...

L’équipe de Giacomo Cavalli, à l’Institut de génétique humaine de Montpellier (Université de Montpellier/CNRS), en collaboration avec des chercheurs de l’Inra, de l’ETH et du Caltech, démontre chez la drosophile l’existence d’une hérédité épigénétique transgénérationnelle. En modifiant de façon transitoire l’architecture 3D des chromosomes et la fonction des protéines du groupe Polycomb, dont l’activité est essentielle au cours du développement, ils ont obtenu des lignées de drosophile porteuses de la même séquence d’ADN mais caractérisées par des yeux de couleurs différentes. Ces différences dépendent d’un degré variable de répression par les protéines Polycomb qui est hérité de façon stable mais réversible. Cette hérédité épigénétique s’applique aussi bien à des lignées transgéniques qu’à des lignées naturelles et peut être modifiée par des changements de conditions environnementales, comme la température ambiante. Ces résultats sont publiés dans la revue Nature Genetics, le 24 avril 2017. Lire l’article : Ciabrelli et al. Nature Genetics, doi:10.1038/ng.3848
Illustration (c) Elisa Cavalli

[Communiqué de presse]

En savoir plus

A la une Découverte d’un nouveau mécanisme épigénétique à l’origine d’une activité anti-tumorale

L’équipe de Giacomo Cavalli démontre chez la drosophile qu’un complexe de protéines du groupe Polycomb, un répresseur épigénétique de l’expression génique, exerce une fonction anti-tumorale en se fixant spécifiquement à des centaines de gènes impliqués dans le contrôle de la prolifération, la signalisation et la polarité cellulaires. Cette fixation massive est également observée dans des cellules humaines différenciées. Cette étude, publiée dans la revue Nature Genetics, ouvre de nouvelles perspectives dans le domaine de la cancérogenèse.
En savoir plus.

 

Les publications de l'année (2017) de l'équipe :

Ciabrelli F, Comoglio F, Fellous S, Bonev B, Ninova M, Szabo Q, Xuéreb A, Klopp C, Aravin A, Paro R, Bantignies F, Cavalli G.
Stable Polycomb-dependent transgenerational inheritance of chromatin states in Drosophila
(2017), Nat. Genet. :
Sati S, Cavalli G..
Chromosome conformation capture technologies and their impact in understanding genome function
(2017), Chromosoma : 126(1):33-44
Schwartz YB, Cavalli G..
Three-Dimensional Genome Organization and Function in Drosophila
(2017), Genetics : 205, 1, 5-24

 

Toutes les publications de l'équipe

Personnel de l'équipe :


Nom / prénom Localisation Poste Situation

   Chercheur

BANTIGNIES Frederic 106-107 9997 DR (CNRS) + HDR Courriel    Photo  
CAVALLI Giacomo 103 9970 DR (CNRS) + HDR Courriel    Photo  
CHEUTIN Thierry 106-107 9997 CR (CNRS) Courriel    Photo  
MARTINEZ Anne-Marie 200 9969 PU (UM2) + HDR Courriel    Photo  
SCHUTTENGRUBER Bernd 106-107 9997 CR (INSERM) + HDR Courriel    Photo  

   ITA

FRITSCH Lauriane 104-105 9968 IE (CNRS) Courriel    Photo  

   Post-Doc

BONEV Boyan 104-105 9968 (CNRS) Courriel    Photo  
GROB Stefan 106-107 9997 (CNRS) Courriel    Photo  
OGIYAMA Yuki 104-105 9968 Courriel    Photo  
PAPADOPOULOS Giorgio Lucio 104-105 9968 (CNRS) Courriel   
SATI Satish 104-105 9968 (Univ.Montp) Courriel    Photo  

   Doctorant

ENTREVAN Marianne 106-107 9997 (Univ.Montp) Courriel    Photo  
LOUBIERE Vincent 104-105 9968 (UM1) Courriel    Photo  
PULICANI Sylvain 170 9564 (Univ.Montp) Courriel    Photo  
SZABO Quentin 106 9997 (Univ.Montp) Courriel    Photo  

   CDD

GUIGUE Philippe 106-107 9997 (CNRS) Courriel   

   Etudiant

RAUTURIER Charles 104-105 9968 (CNRS) Courriel    Photo  

   Stagiaire

RUBERT-CASTRO Francesc 106 9979 Courriel    Photo  

Equipe Chromatine et Biologie Cellulaire.

AccueilImprimerContactCoordonnéesCréditsAccès PersonnelCourriel  Listes de Diffusion

 

 

CNRS UM
Institut de Génétique Humaine
 
 

Annuaires

Rechercher

Sur le WEB du laboratoire



Sur le WEB du CNRS



  INSTITUT de GENETIQUE HUMAINE
  UMR9002 CNRS-UM
  Montpellier, France

Imprimer Contact Plan du site Crédits Accueil